

NEW YORK CITY BOARD OF CORRECTION

March 17, 2021 SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING¹ MINUTES

ATTENDEES

MEMBERS PRESENT

Jennifer Jones Austin, Esq., Chair Stanley Richards, Vice-Chair Marco Carrion, Member Robert L. Cohen, M.D., Member Felipe Franco, Member James Perrino, Member Steven M. Safyer, M.D., Member Jacqueline Sherman, Esq., Member

Margaret Egan, Executive Director

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION

Nancy Li, Policy Analyst Julia Szendro, Policy Analyst Sean Kersten, Press Secretary Latima Johnson, Press Officer

Hazel Jennings, Chief of Department Brenda Cooke, Chief of Staff Dana Wax, Deputy Chief of Staff Heidi Grossman, Deputy Commissioner for Legal Matters/General Counsel Timothy Farrell, Senior Deputy Commissioner Steven Kaiser, Executive Director of Policy and Intergovernmental Affairs James Boyd, Assistant Commissioner of Internal Communications Rosette Hurtault, Assistant Deputy Warden Carolyn Maraj, Assistant Deputy Warden Wayne Prince, Assistant Deputy Warden Jamal Rigault, Captain Jeremiah Pringle, Captain Steven Merrill, Captain David Jean, Captain Jessica Davis, Officer Tracy Washington, Officer Timothy Hodges, Officer

¹ Due to the coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic, this special meeting was conducted virtually.

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Clay Jemmott, NYC Correction Guardians Association, Inc.

Vincent Capers, NYC Correction Guardians Association, Inc.

Joseph Thomas, NY City Hall

Rachel Baker, NY City Hall

Reggie Miller, Office of the Appellate Defender

Victoria Phillips, UJC/Jails Action Coalition (JAC)

Daniele Gerard, Children's Rights

Tobin Kassa, Children's Rights

Mary Lynne Werlwas, Legal Aid Society Prisoners' Rights Project (LAS)

Kayla Simpson, LAS

Alexandra Smith, LAS

Kelsey De Avila, Brooklyn Defender Services (BDS)

Simone Spirig, BDS

Irene Cedano, BDS

Julia Solomons, Bronx Defenders

Kelly Grace Price, Close Rosie's

Darlene McDay, HALT Solitary Campaign

Darren Mack, Freedom Agenda

Laura Limuli, Friends of Island Academy

Frances Geteles-Shapiro, New York Campaign for Alternatives to Isolated Confinement (CAIC)

Jayette Lansbury, National Alliance on Mental Illness

Melania Brown, Independent

Angel Fermin, Independent

Kelvin Gomez, Independent

Joan Pleune, Independent

Gregory Kellman, Independent

Kelvin Gomez, Independent

John Christian, Independent

Giselle Cordero, Independent

Bayyinah Peacock, Independent

Omar Malcolm, Independent

Sam Ted, Independent

Jules Sam, Independent

T. Strange, Independent

Rich Palmer, Independent

Adeel Nawaz, Independent

Daryl Moore, Independent

J. And, Independent

J. Medgarman, Independent

Shakuwra Malcolm, Independent

Sydell Tyson, Independent

Chayanne Fabre, Independent

Pietro Jorge, Independent

Michael Newman, Independent

Jonathan Oumadatt, Independent

Liriano Gonzalez, Independent

Abdul Mohammad, Independent

Charles Powell, Independent

Public Comment on Variance Request

The Board heard public comment on DOC's Young Adult Enhanced Supervision Housing ("YA-ESH") Variance Request from Daniele Gerard (Children's Rights), Victoria Phillips (JAC), Kayla Simpson (LAS), Rich Palmer (Independent), Kelly Grace Price (Close Rosie's), J. And (Independent), Darlene McDay (HALT Solitary Campaign), and Timothy Hodges (NY DOC).

Public comment on the variance request is available here.

YA-ESH Variance Request

▶Introduction

The Board's Chair, Jennifer Jones Austin ("Chair Jones Austin"), introduced DOC's YA-ESH sixmonth Variance Request. See this portion of the video recording here.

▶ DOC Presentation

DOC Chief of Department Hazel Jennings and Chief of Staff Brenda Cooke presented the YA-ESH Variance Request. See this portion of the video recording here.

▶ Board Discussion

Board discussion on the variance request, including the Department's response, is available <u>here</u>.

► Board Vote

The Board's Executive Director Margaret Egan ("ED Egan") read out loud the twenty conditions to the variance. See this portion of the video recording here.

Chair Jones Austin called for a motion to vote on the conditions to the variance. After Vice Chair Richards moved the item and Member Franco seconded, the Board approved the conditions, with seven votes in favor (Chair Jones Austin, Vice Chair Richards and Members Carrion, Franco, Perrino, Safyer, and Sherman) and one vote in opposition (Member Cohen).

Member Cohen proposed a condition requiring Board members to tour the North Infirmary Command before voting on the YA-ESH variance. After Member Cohen moved the item and Member Perrino seconded, the condition did not pass, with two votes in favor (Members Cohen and Perrino) and six votes in opposition (Chair Jones Austin, Vice Chair Richards and Members Carrion, Franco, Safyer, and Sherman).

Chair Jones Austin called for a motion to vote on the six-month variance with conditions. After Member Perrino moved the item and Vice Chair Richards seconded, the Board approved the variance, with seven votes in favor (Chair Jones Austin, Vice Chair Richards and Members Carrion, Franco, Perrino, Safyer, and Sherman) and one vote in opposition (Member Cohen).

See the Board's vote on the variance and the conditions <u>here</u>. The final record of variance is published <u>here</u>.